laughing eyes


Some things change
Funny, isn’t it? How life has a way of giving you what you need. Figuring out that it’s also what you want is part of the challenge. Commitments, obligations. Family, friends, work. Good stuff. But gets in the way of good camera time.
It’s been far too long since my last post here. It’s been far too long since I’ve had some time with just me and my camera, shooting what I want.
Some things remain the same
My 4th time shooting Muertos y Marigolds Dia de los Muertos, in the South Valley of Albuquerque.  It’s a visually stunning event that continues to grow. Indio-hispanic-anglo traditions mingle together in one big social-statement-experience.  It’s held in one of the poorest neighborhoods, but one of the richest in tradition, heritage and pride. Skeletons, and beautiful costumes. Floats and humor. Plus, there’s candy. And low riders. And bands and dancers.  Did I mention the candy? There are kids there too. It’s not scary or spooky. We honor our dead, and the dead speak through us and to us, telling us the truths that we are too blind in our “aliveness” to see.
Each year, my favorite photog friends and I turn out to shoot this beautiful event.  We really do treat it as our own personal photo shoot.  In years past, the crowds were so small that entire sections of the parade route were bare.  Not this year.  But the crowds tolerated us, cheered us, as they cheered the calaveras, the kids, the social commentary. And the candy.
See you next year.

5 responses to “laughing eyes

  1. Always love that parade. It makes thinking of moving from here a tormenting proposition. 😉

  2. Cathy Bambach-McKay

    are you Nancy Simutis who lived in Blacksburg, VA?

    • Nancy Simutis Newell

      Cathy!

      How wonderful that you found me! Yes, it’s me! How are you? Where are you?

      love, Nancy

      • Glad I tracked you down. I was visiting my parents and we were looking at pictures from when I was little. Do you have a regular e-mail address? Would love to catch up.

        I’m actually not too far from you as I live in Colorado now. Small world.

  3. Well hello there friend! It has been so long since I have chatted with you since i haven’t been on flickr forever 🙂 The pictures are frightfully amazing! Nice work as always

Leave a Reply

